(866) 586 - 6980

You are here

Turtle Reef

Request info Printer-friendly version
Share page with AddThis

Check Availability

4 Bedrooms
3 Bathrooms
Get Directions
4 of 5
In House Rating
Gold

Description

Cottage, 4 BR, 3 B. K * K * Q * 2S * S trundle (can be used as Q). Island Club linen service with beds made. Situated high atop a dune for amazing ocean views. Private 22’ x 11’ swimming pool. Fantastic floor plan and décor. Granite countertops, dishwasher, washer/dryer, 5 HD/LCD dish TVs, 3 DVD players, wireless high speed Internet access. A vast assortment of movies for all ages. Covered porch and pool deck with shaded areas. Upgraded pool furniture, gas grill, picnic table, enclosed hot/cold outside shower. Three levels with separate ground level play room with ping-pong table and easy access to pool deck and tiki bar. Directly across from beach access. Located in Daisywood, an oceanside subdivision near Emerald Plantation shops and restaurants, ice cream shop and wine market. Walking distance to miniature golf and water slide. Weekly only. Available year ‘round. No smoking. Pets allowed with $150 non-refundable fee per pet (2 maximum). 110 Janell Lane.

This almost oceanfront property rents monthly in the off-season. Linens are not included in monthly rentals, but may be added to your reservation.

September & May $2,300; October & April $1,975; November – March $1,800. Monthly pet fee $200.00 per pet; Electric cap $200.00.

For further details please contact the Long Term Department at 252.354.6149 or e-mail (longterm@eirealty.com)

Amenities

Amenities

  • Pool
  • Pets Allowed
  • Gas or Charcoal Grill
  • Linens Provided
  • Internet Provided
  • Winter Monthly Rentals

Calendar

  • Sunny Season Jun 10 - Aug 13, 2017
  • Early/late Sunny Value Season Jun 3 - Jun 11, 2017 / Aug 12 - Aug 20, 2017
  • Spring/Fall Getaway Season Apr 29 - Jun 4, 2017 / Aug 19 - Sep 10, 2017
  • Spring/Fall Sports Season Apr 8 - Apr 30, 2017 / Sep 9, 2017 - Jan 7, 2018
  • Islander Season Jan 7 - Apr 9, 2017
Key
#Night Available#Night Unavailable#Arrive Only#Depart Only*Special Rate!
August 2017
SaSuMoTuWeThFrWeek
 1
2
3
4
 
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
 
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
 
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
$2,200 /wk
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
September 2017
SaSuMoTuWeThFrWeek
 1
$2,200 /wk
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
$2,200 /wk
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
$1,575 /wk
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
$1,575 /wk
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
$1,575 /wk
30
 
October 2017
SaSuMoTuWeThFrWeek
 1
2
3
4
5
6
$1,575 /wk
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
$1,575 /wk
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
$1,575 /wk
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
$1,575 /wk
28
29
30
31
 
November 2017
SaSuMoTuWeThFrWeek
 1
2
3
$1,575 /wk
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
$1,575 /wk
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
$1,575 /wk
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
$1,575 /wk
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
December 2017
SaSuMoTuWeThFrWeek
 1
$1,575 /wk
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
$1,575
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
$1,575
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
$1,575
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
$1,575
30
31
 
January 2018
SaSuMoTuWeThFrWeek
 1
2
3
4
5
$1,575
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
$1,425
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
$1,425
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
$1,425
27
28
29
30
31
 
February 2018
SaSuMoTuWeThFrWeek
 1
2
$1,425
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
$1,425
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
$1,425
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
$1,425
24
25
26
27
28
 
March 2018
SaSuMoTuWeThFrWeek
 1
2
$1,425
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
$1,425
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
$1,425
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
$1,425
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
Available
31
 
April 2018
SaSuMoTuWeThFrWeek
 1
2
3
4
5
6
Unavailable
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
Unavailable
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
Unavailable
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
Unavailable
28
29
30
 
May 2018
SaSuMoTuWeThFrWeek
 1
2
3
4
Available
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
Available
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
Available
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
Available
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
June 2018
SaSuMoTuWeThFrWeek
 1
Available
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
Available
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
Available
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
Available
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
Unavailable
30
 
July 2018
SaSuMoTuWeThFrWeek
 1
2
3
4
5
6
Unavailable
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
Available
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
Unavailable
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
Unavailable
28
29
30
31
 

Map

Reviews

Average Rating 4 of 5

"Turtle Reef was perfect!"

5 of 5

We've stayed at Emerald Isle for years and always at the same cottage. We decided to change things up. We chose Turtle Reef because of the convenient location and private pool. We were very impressed. It was so well equipped and very comfortable. The kids loved the pool. We've already reserved our spot for next year.

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 08/01/2016

 

"Very nice choice"

5 of 5

We have rented perhaps 20 different beach houses and found Turtle Reef to be first rate. There were separate living areas so different family members could have some down time watching a movie or just chilaxiin if they wanted. The pool is small but was big enough for a family of 7. I probably would not go to the beach unless I had access to a pool, as an aside. I have read the reviews that complained the house is not well appointed enough, but that was not the case with our stay. The kitchen was adequate, (perhaps a few extra pots may have been helpful, but hey, this is vacation so everybody just managed to make do without much hassle) . Location is very good, the house was clean and well maintained, good access to the beach and nice terraces for sitting and watching the waves, or just sitting! Adequate parking and just a very short hike to the beach. Grocery and coffee shops within just a few minutes and somewhat secluded pool so it didn't feel like we were on top of our neighbors.

-drwiz on 07/10/2016

 

"A few disappointments "

3 of 5

I expected more considering the weekly rent for this house. We were very happy with the location and enjoyed the pool, especially the fact that the maximum depth was 5' which was great for kids. Loved that we could walk to the beach in 5 minutes. However, the pots and pans were terrible, and we could have used more serving dishes. We cook in a lot and it was difficult to manage. Also, only one kitchen towel and no dish cloths. We have rented beach houses for 25 years and this is the first one ever that didn't have a mop. There were no basic cleaning supplies. Overall it was an enjoyable week, but please invest a little money in re-furnishing the kitchen. And, help your renters keep the house clean by providing basic cleaning supplies.

Manager Response:

Thank you for sharing experience with us. Turtle Reef does provide an excellent location, and I am happy to know your family enjoyed the pool. I will be sure to get with our housekeeping department about replacing the pots and pans and adding a mop and other cleaning supplies. Please let us know of such needs during your stay so we can meet them. We look forward to your next vacation in Emerald Isle at Turtle Reef.

-A TripAdvisor Member on 08/10/2015

 

"5 adults and 2 dogs thoroughly enjoyed this home!"

4 of 5

We are a group of 5 adults and we stayed at Turtle Reef for one week, Sunday 7/26/15 through 8/2/15. We also had 2 dogs in our party and we were so happy to be able to bring pets with us, so thanks to the owners for allowing this! We read the reviews here prior to our trip and were truly concerned with what this house would be like based on those negative reviews. I am happy to say those concerns went completely out the window when we arrived. We loved this house! The house is very tastefully decorated and was very clean and comfortable. It was evident that the home had been cleaned thoroughly prior to our arrival. We had plenty of towels and washcloths (in fact, we had more than we needed) and the beds were made when we arrived. We had everything we could possibly need and we truly had a wonderful week in this lovely home! You enter the home using the side stairs up to the 2nd level into the open kitchen/dining/living area. The kitchen is nicely appointed with stainless appliances and granite countertops. We cooked many times during the week and had plenty of utensils, plenty of dishes/pots and pans, and had no issues with any of the appliances. The living room has a comfy leather wrap around couch and you can see the ocean from the living room and dining room. There is a ceiling fan too. The tv had satellite channels from Dish, but the lineup was a bit limited. But hey, we didn't come to the beach to watch tv, so no biggie! The home also had Wifi, which we utilized. There was a large balcony on this level with table and 4 chairs as well as Adirondack chairs to relax in. On this level there was also a hallway bathroom with a tub (the only tub in the home), and a bedroom with a king bed, where my parents slept. The bedroom also had satellite tv and a ceiling fan. There was also a hallway closet which is where the washer/dryer was located. We did do some laundry during our stay, and had no issues there. There was even a starter supply of laundry detergent tabs (2) left for us. A previous reviewer mentioned that they couldnt find any cleaning supplies or dish detergentthe realty agreement clearly states that you are provided only with a starter supply of these items for this home. So yeah, you will need to buy/bring your own dish detergent and dishwasher detergent, toilet paper, paper towels and laundry detergent, which we did on our first day in Emerald Isle. We knew this in advance and planned accordingly! And we did also find a few cleaning items in the laundry closet. Upstairs on the 3rd level is the master bedroom with a queen bed, a spacious attached bathroom with double sinks and a shower, and a private balcony with great views of the beach. There were 2 chairs and a side table on the balcony as well. This room also had satellite tv, a DVD player, and a ceiling fan. This was the room my husband and I slept in and we loved it. It is beautifully decorated and the bed was comfy. Also on this level was another bedroom with 2 twin beds. In the closet of this room was a tv/VCR/dvd combo, a game system (Playstation, I think?), and some movies and games to choose from. We did not have kids in our group, so we did not utilize this room at all during our stay. In terms of temperature, the 3rd floor was the coolest level of the home, which was totally fine by us!If you go all the way downstairs to the 1st level, there is a bedroom there with a queen bed, flatscreen satellite tv and a ceiling fan. We were pleasantly surprised to find there is an attached bathroom there with a shower! When we booked our stay, we were told this level only had a half bath, so that was a nice surprise for us to see there was a shower in there! Also on the bottom level is a small living area with a leather couch that pulls out, flatscreen satellite tv, and a ceiling fan. We did not use the pull out, so I cant speak to its comfort. This level of the home was by far the warmest level of the house. Using doors from the bedroom or the living area, you can enter into the enclosed gameroom, which used to be a garage. This room is not air conditioned or insulated and it does get warm in there. But even still, we enjoyed many games of ping pong in there! There was a basket with sand toys in there as well, and some pool noodles and 2 boogie boards. There is also a mini fridge (which got very cold, be careful not to freeze your beer!), a microwave, and a couch in the gameroom. Im not sure if the garage door opens or not? We couldnt figure out how to open it. We simply opened the sliding glass door for ventilation when we were using the gameroom. There is also a small portable radio in there and an extension cord, if you want to take the tunes out to the pool deck!From that sliding glass door, you can go outside into the fenced-in pool area. There is also a tiki bar with some stools and a BBQ grill behind the tiki bar. Theres a water hose as well, and we added water to the pool as needed during the week. We loved the pool and it was clean and plenty spacious for the 5 of us. We spent lots of time in the pool during our stay. The pool also has 2 built in seats, which were nice to sit in and relax. Over on the other side of the pool is a gate that leads to the driveway, and there is an open shower there to rinse off after a trip to the beach. Around on the back side of the house is an enclosed outdoor shower. The beach access is located across the street from the home and isnt a far walk at all. We spent some time on the beach during our stay as well, and loved it. The street the home is located on is quiet and we felt safe walking our dogs on the street every day. Emerald Plantation is a very short drive (less than 5 minutes) from the home and there is a Food Lion grocery store there, and some shops and restaurants. This Food Lion is very busy in the summer, so pack your patience - you have been warned! But it was also very convenient to have it so close by. We did not have any visits from the owners during our stay, nor did we encounter any pool maintenance people during our stay. We did not have any issues with things not working properly. We did see some ants a few times on the 2nd level of the home (in the kitchen), but we knew that may happen from previous reviews, so we came armed with ant spray, which we did use as needed, and it worked perfectly fine, no biggie. We also kept all our snacks in an enclosed Rubbermaid tote (which we brought from home) as a precaution, and we were sure to clean up the kitchen after every meal to reduce any extra attraction for the ants. Really, it wasnt a big deal at all. Notes to the owners for potential improvements: Some vertical blinds on the 2nd level sliding glass doors would really help with cooling during the day. NC summers are hot & humid, and this level did warm up quite a bit during the daytime hours. Having blinds to close during the day would really help, I think. The 1st level of the home was quite warm compared to the rest of the house. A window unit air conditioner in that bedroom would really help with cooling on this level. A window unit would really make a nice addition for the gameroom also, along with insultating/finishing this room. Overall, we had a great time at Turtle Reef and I would definitely recommend this home to others who are looking a nice home to rent in Emerald Isle. Please do not believe the negative reviews posted previously. We really, truly, honestly enjoyed this home. We loved the pool, the proximity to the beach, and the dcor of the home as well. And we really loved that our furry friends got to come along with us! Emerald Isle Realty was a pleasure to deal with, and we had no issues there either. However, do not arrive at the realty office prior to your assigned check-in time! We arrived a whopping 8 minutes early and we were told we couldnt have our keys yet, to come back at 4pm. So we circled the block a couple times and went back and we were able to get our keys on our second try. EIRs drive-thru key pickup at the beginning of the week and drop off at the end of our stay was very convenient. You dont even have to get out of the car! I definitely would rent from EIR again.

Manager Response:

Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with us. It pleases me to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay at Turtle Reef. I appreciate your suggestions for improvements as well. Please come again!

-ncgirl1985 on 08/07/2015

 

"Would not rent this home again."

3 of 5

This home was average. The pool was small, but nice. The house was close to the beach. By far, the biggest turn-off was that the owner stopped by multiple times during the week, always unannounced. This really ruined the relaxation ambiance of our vacation and since the whole point of a vacation is to 'get away', I was left feeling cheated.Pros:Emerald Isle Realty's online booking was easy to use.Home was close to the beach.Home was within walking distance to jogging/bike paths, grocery, shopping and entertainment.Pool was well maintained.Neighbors were quiet.Check-out was easy.Cons:Owner showed up to check on the property, unannounced and multiple times. Creepy!Dishes had to be washed before using.House overall could have been a lot cleaner.Master bedroom did not have a connected bathroom, instead used the one in the hall: Since this was the only bathroom on the main floor, everyone in the house used that bathroom all day.Kitchen was poorly stocked. We cook a lot and so this was disappointing: (Couldn't find a whisk that wasn't falling apart, very few serving dishes, etc.) Ended up having to buy dishwasher detergent and rinse aid because dishwasher would not dry dishes without it. I mean, really? You couldn't provide that stuff? Some dishes were so large,they had to be hand washed so we had to buy dish soap too. There was nothing to clean with in the house, no soap, no cleaning spray, etc.Check-in was confusing: We were told to return at a later time and when we did, home still wasn't ready.

Manager Response:

Thank you for your review of your stay at Turtle Reef. The owner of this home does service the pool which is why he was there during your stay. The pool was cleaned mid-week and during that cleaning it was found that some maintenance was required so he returned the following day to take care of that. I am sorry that you were not informed that he would be coming to do this work. We do strive to maintain excellent communication with our guests, but often choose not to disturb you when entrance to the home isn't necessary.

Any time you are staying in an Emerald Isle Realty property, please let us know of needed items like the kitchen items you mentioned or if the property is cleaned to your satisfaction. Our housekeeping department will gladly send another crew to the home to clean it again. We are also happy to provide any needed items. As for the detergents and cleaning supplies, these items are provided by guests along with paper products.

Thank you again for your feedback. I hope you will vacation in Emerald Isle again.

-mustlovedogs358 on 07/22/2015

 

"Good monthly, pet friendly rental."

4 of 5

Good 2nd row beach house. Beach access right across from house.Good ocean views from 2nd and 3rd level. And pet friendly! We rented this house for all the above reasons. Owners were very friendly and attentive to any problems we had during our stay. This house had only basic Dish network, maybe 10 channels. However owners were very kind in adding extended channels,(not premiums) for our monthly stay. Since I requested this addition, I felt like I needed to pay for it, so I did. Great location on beach- close to everything we wanted to do. I would definitely rent this place again.

-Alicew526 on 10/29/2014

 

"Great family vacation spot!"

5 of 5

We had an absolutely wonderful time at Turtle Reef. The pool was awesome! and the proximity to the ocean was perfect for us. We were secluded, but near enough to walk to groceries, ice cream, and shops. My grand kids loved this trip, too. We will go back there!!

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 09/29/2014